Acrylics and the 4th Appeals

Michael Raffety

5-4-15

Facebook is not my thing. In spite of that my son set up a Facebook account for me. I have trouble thinking of things to post , other than a photo of a boutique clothing store in Santa Barbara that has the same first name as my daughter.

The second item posted was a 5×7 acrylic painting of koi that I did for the Placerville Arts Association. PAA is collecting 5x7s from its member that will wrapped and given away at its 50th anniversary luncheon.

My painting is more design than realistic. I thought about the paintings my friend Michelle Flood does and decided that any further work with acrylic will trend toward design like much of what I admire about her paintings, including the one I see every time I have attended a monthly PAA meeting a demonstration at the Senior Center.

April’s PAA meeting featured a demonstration by a portrait painter. That was really helpful because my next acrylic project will be a portrait of three women wearing paper crowns from a Christmas popper.

I was particularly intrigued and inspired by a portrait done in 1911 by Russian Alexei von Jawlensky that I saw at the exhibit from the Scottish museums at the de Young that I recently reviewed.

For absolute bright color that was unmatched by anything I had seen before I was really bowled over by a pair of paintings from the 1950s by Charles Lapique when I saw his work at the the Musee des Beaux-Arts Dijon in France.

. . .

Gov. Jerry Brown was reported as angry about a ruling by the 4th District Court of Appeals against the tiered water rate structure of the city of San Juan Capistrano, saying it interferes with his effort to get urban water users to cut their water consumption 25 percent.

“In fact it (the city) has practically admitted those tiers don’t reflect cost of service, as shown by their tidy percentage increments and City Water’s refusal to defend the calculations.” That’s what the 4th District Court of Appeals said about the water rate structure of San Juan Capistrano.

It was a unanimous decision by the three justices, who gave a 28-page tutorial on water the history and current state of water rights as well as the addition to the state Constitution known as Proposition 218. The court stated the state Constitution requires that fees “not exceed the proportional cost of the service attributable to the parcel.” That is Prop 218 in a nutshell.

Though the decision of the 4th District does not affect this part of the state, which is under the jurisdiction of the 3rd District Court of Appeals, every water district will pay close attention to make sure they don’t have the swallow the San Juan Capistrano mud nest.

The El Dorado Irrigation District’s rate structure places 50 percent of its Cost of Service in fixed rate charges and 50 percent from variable rates. Variable costs of service were carefully outlined in a 2011 Cost of Service Study.

The city of San Juan Capistrano needs to go back to the drawing board and our governor, a lawyer, needs to read the actual decision.

. . .

For those who paid income tax last month, here’s a quote from Ronald Reagan: “The taxpayer – that’s someone who works for the federal government but doesn’t have to take a civil service examination.”

Leave a Reply

